Go to navigation (press enter key)Menu

Awards Program

The AAVC Awards Program was started in 2001 to recognize alumnae/i who have contributed much to the vitality and success of Vassar and AAVC over many years and have inspired generations of Vassar alumnae/i.

AAVC currently bestows five awards:

Distinguished Achievement Award

2013 Distinguished Achievement Award recipient, Rebecca Eaton '69

The Distinguished Achievement Award is presented to an alumna or alumnus who has reached the highest level in her or his field, including the professions, science, the arts, and public affairs. While demonstrating exceptional talent, application, creativity, and skill within a certain career, this individual must at the same time exemplify the ideals of a liberal arts education and have used her or his position of visibility, power, or leadership to better the human community and serve the wider goals of society.

2013 Recipient
Rebecca Eaton '69


Outstanding Service to Vassar College Award

2016 Outstanding Service to Vassar Award recipient Barbara Manfrey Vogelstein '76, with AAVC President Milbrey “Missie” Rennie Taylor ’68

The AAVC Outstanding Service Award is presented to an alumna/alumnus in recognition of her or his extraordinary commitment, leadership, and service in promoting the goals and highest interests of Vassar College and AAVC. The award honors outstanding contributions made over a number of years in any or all of these volunteer capacities: class, club, and committee activities; fundraising; enriching campus life; or stewardship as board members, trustees or donors. Outstanding Service Award winners are ambassadors on behalf of Vassar College to the alumnae/i and to the larger community.

2016 Recipient
Barbara Manfrey Vogelstein '76


Spirit of Vassar Award

2015 Spirit of Vassar award recipient Linda Malone ’75, with AAVC President Milbrey “Missie” Rennie Taylor ’68

The Spirit of Vassar Award is given to an individual or group whose volunteer efforts exemplify an enduring spirit of community and caring.

2015 Recipient
Linda Malone ’75


Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award is presented to a faculty or staff member who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership and commitment to engage with alumnae/i and current students through a range of programs, initiatives and activities over a period of years.

Young Alumnae/i Achievement or Service Award

Young Alumnae/i Achievement or Service Award is presented to an alumna or alumnus recognized for either their extraordinary service to Vassar in any aspect of alumnae/i engagement OR for their exceptional personal and professional achievement(s) within their respective field. As a graduate within the last 10 years, recipient should be inspirational to their peers and the current student body, while exemplifying the fruits of a successful liberal arts education at Vassar.